Javascript Menu by

2017 News Releases




WIA honours achievers with awards

Date : 23 / 05 / 2017
Author : Jim Linton - VK3PC

Noel Ferguson VK3FI of Mildura and Graeme Scott “Scotty” VK2KE from Albury were made Honorary Life Members at the Wireless Institute of Australia (WIA) annual general meeting in Hahndorf South Australia. Noel (picured right) became a radio amateur in May, 1958, was an avid homebrewer, very active in education, special events, promotion, and operating.

Graeme, a radio amateur since 1957, was formerly with the WIA Education Committee, and for many decades a teacher and mentor of Amateur Radio throughout Australia.

In other recognition, the Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) Coordinator and telebridge station, Shane Lynd VK4KHZ, received the prestigious Chris Jones Award.
He was overwhelmed. Former ARISS Coordinator and still a telebridge, Tony Hutchison VK5ZAI, talked briefly about Shane before making a surprise presentation of an ARISS Certificate for his 10 years of involvement. It was later learnt that Tony VK5ZAI, the Chris Jones Award 2009 recipient, also received a 20 year ARISS Certificate for his contributions.

The Ron Wilkinson Award went to Phil Moat VK4CDI for his 23cm band moonbounce (EME) experiments focusing digital modes, resulting in the world record distance contact of 18,918.3 km with Aleksandr EA8DBM on 27/11/2015.

Johnno Karr VK3FMPB received the WIA Foundation Licence Award for taking part in ILLW, KRMNPA, being a WWFF VKFF Hunter, ANZAC Day events and writing in Amateur Radio magazine and club newsletters.

A number of WIA Presidents Commendations were then awarded: Peter Richardson VK2PR who compiles the WIA Contests Champion list, Kevin Mulcahy VK2CE for Amateur Radio & International Lighthouse and Lightship Weekend achievements, Tony Falla VK3KKP a lifelong Amateur Radio enthusiast and computer professional who has led publicity and awareness activities, and John F. Drew VK5DJ who epitomised the term STEM before it was coined, being an avid homebrewer and repeater developer. Bernie Lupinacci W1CDM and Terry Page VK2JTP received individual Presidents Commendations for 15 years as the only administrators worldwide of the EchoLink system. The “Australian Travellers Net” controllers - Ross Cunningham VK5KMH, Noel Des Jardins VK4NL, Victor Stallan VK4WST, George Turner VK4HGT and Bob Lockley VK6KW – were also honoured.

The WIA Publications Committee Awards were announced by the Amateur Radio magazine Editor Peter Freeman VK3PF. The Al Shawsmith Award for journalism for the best non-technical article in Amateur Radio magazine was awarded to Joe Gonzales VK3YSP and Julie Gonzales VK3FOWL for writing the piece “ANZAC Day 2016 Amateur Special Event".

The Amateur Radio magazine Technical Award for the best technical article went for a second year in a row to Jim Tregellas VK5JST, for the article "A $10 Antenna for 2 m that anyone can build".
The Higginbotham Award went to Christine Taylor VK5CTY for a long history of Amateur Radio magazine contributions particularly on Women in Radio, ALARA & AHARS News.

The 30 WIA Assessors who reached the milestone of 10 years were given a Certificate and pin by the WIA Exam Service to mark the occasion. Certificates of Appreciation went to the WIA AGM weekend South Australian Organising Commmitee: David Clegg VK5KC, John Dawes VK5BJE, Jim Tregellas VK5TR, Shirley Tregellas VK5YL, Stuart Fillmore VK5STU, Roy Gabriel VK5NRG, Grant Willis VK5GR, Matthew Cook VK5ZM, David Minchin VK5KK, Iain Crawford VK5ZD, Joy Robins, Dan Flakelar VK5DF.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)