Javascript Menu by

Amateur Radio Licensing And Callsigns


Certificates Of Proficiency

Apparatus Licences

RPLA & Exemptions

Operating Guidelines

Visiting Australia

About Australian Amateur Licensing


The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is the regulator administering spectrum use through the Radiocommunications Act 1992. Link

The Amateur Service primarily facilitates the hobby radio communications, is for technical experimentation and operates on specified frequency bands. Various transmission methods are used for voice, Morse code, picture, text and data.

To transmit, radio amateurs need qualifications, with a competency based system of assessments and certificates of proficiency issued by the WIA (see below), and an ACMA licence.

By international treaty obligations for the Amateur Service, the ACMA licence is to:
Operated for the purposes of self-training and technical investigation using radio by qualified people who do so solely with a personal aim, without pecuniary interest, on Amateur Service frequencies or bands, and may participate in the Amateur-Satellite Service.

There are five licence types:
  Foundation Licence (base level entry)
  Standard Licence
  Advanced Licence
  Repeater Station (only Advanced Licence holders, and Standard Licence holders within the conditions of a Standard Licence)
  Beacon Station (only Advanced Licence holders, and Standard Licence holders within the conditions of a Standard Licence)

The licences are subject to the Licence Conditions (Amateur Licence) Determination (LCD). Link

Details on how to become a radio amateur, and obtain an ACMA licence, can be read under the website tab 'Your Amateur Radio Licence'.

Licences are generally for one year, up to five years. The current ACMA licence fee for an initial licence is $78 with a $53 annual licence renewal fee (The ACMA usually revises its fees each year on June 30). Details of fees for multi-year amateur station licences can been found in Table 7.2 of the ACMA 'Apparatus Licence Fee Schedule' Link

Certificates of Proficiency & Callsigns

The WIA issues all three levels of qualification certificate, manages a callsign database, and issues a callsign recommendation. The ACMA issues a licence based on the qualification of the applicant and the attached WIA Callsign Recommendation certificate.

The ACMA remains the licensing authority, issuing or varying licences under the Radiocommunications Act 1992. To see more detail about how to apply for, and the structure of callsigns, see the left hand index menu.

Files For Download

WIA Reserved Callsign List Policy and Process document
WIA Reserved Callsign List Policy and Process document.pdf

Page Last Updated: Tuesday 6 November 2018 at 11:24 hours by Webmaster


© 2018 Wireless Institute of Australia