Javascript Menu by

2016 News Releases




Changes for the WIA Board

Date : 06 / 01 / 2016
Author : Roger Harrison - VK2ZRH

Over the Christmas-New year Period, the WIA Board has undergone some changes, with one director resigning, and a new Director and a new Treasurer being welcomed.

Rowan Dollar VK8RD resigned on 27 December 2015.

At a Board meeting on 5 January 2016, the Board accepted Rowans resignation and appointed Paul Simmonds VK5PAS as a Director, replacing Chris Platt VK5CP, who resigned on 1 December 2015 as he became a Commissioner on the Fair Work Commission.

Paul VK5PAS (pictured right) is well-known for his work in promoting and supporting the popular portable amateur activities such as the VK5 Parks Award, World Wide Flora and Fauna (promoting conservation via amateur radio) and Summits on the Air (SOTA). Paul is a Detective in the South Australian Police Force. He will continue as a Director through to the end of the AGM in May, in accordance with the provisions of the WIA Constitution.

A new Treasurer was appointed at the Board's 5 January meeting. He is Chris Chapman VK3QB, who is well known in the DX world as Team Leader of recent DXpeditions VK9NT to Norfolk Island, and YJ0VK to Vanuatu, organised by the Oceania DX Group.Chris has also served in various roles with the Gippsland Gate Radio and Electronics Club, including two years as President. Chris and his wife own and run a business in Foster.

The Board welcomes Paul and Chris, and looks forward to their contributions to the important work of the Board and the Institute. They will participate in the Board's scheduled January teleconference meeting on 19 January.

The Board has resolved to continue with six directors until the end of the AGM in May.

In other news, the Board has arranged for the Institute's 2015 financial year audit to occur over January. Results will be published on the WIA website when they become available, and in the Annual Report inserted in Amateur Radio magazine in the normal course of events.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2019 Wireless Institute of Australia