Javascript Menu by

2016 News Releases




Call for nominations

Date : 15 / 01 / 2016
Author : Geoff Atkinson - VK3AFA


Nominations for the election of Directors for your WIA Board close on 31st January 2016.

Under the WIA Constitution, three positions become available this year, to take effect from 28 May 2016, at the closing of the AGM.

One of our retiring Directors, President Phil Wait VK2ASD, has offered himself for re-election.

Time is running out to submit nominations.

WIA Directors are dedicated volunteers, committed to doing their best for WIA members and the Australian Amateur Radio community as a whole.

To be effective, a Board needs a mixture of skills. The business and operations of the Institute require technical, managerial, commercial and professional experience and skills at Board level so that the WIA is better equipped to meet the significant challenges ahead.

The WIA is facing an uncertain climate with the government’s Spectrum Review, wholesale revision of the Radiocommunications Act and licensing. At the same time, restructuring of the National Office and a review of the diverse operations of the Institute are under way.

If you believe you have the capacity, desire and commitment to volunteer and serve your fellow members and the amateur community, please consider submitting a nomination in accordance with the instructions below. If you know someone who would be a suitable candidate, consider asking them. Nominations close on the 31st January 2016, so act now.

How to nominate
A director must be a voting member of the WIA and must hold an Australian amateur radio licence.

Any person wishing to nominate as a candidate for election as director of the WIA must deliver or cause to be delivered to the Returning Officer by not later than 31 January 2016:

  A statement signed by the candidate signifying his or her willingness to be a candidate for election as a director together with;
  the full name, age, occupation and callsign of the candidate, and
  such other biographical details or other information as the candidate wishes to accompany the ballot papers, but in all not exceeding 250 words.

Delivery to the Returning Officer may be made by hand when the WIA national office is open at:
Unit 20, 11-13 Havelock Road, Bayswater, Victoria 3153. Or by mail to: PO Box 2042, Bayswater
Victoria 3153.

Nominations received by facsimile or by electronic means cannot be accepted.

Geoffrey Atkinson VK3AFA
Returning Officer WIA


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2018 Wireless Institute of Australia