Javascript Menu by

2007 News Releases




WIA Announces Chris Jones Award

Date : 18 / 04 / 2007
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

WIA President Michael Owen VK3KI announced today that the WIA had decided to honour the memory of the late Chris Jones VK2ZDD by a new award, to be called the Chris Jones Award.

The award will not necessarily be made every year, and will be awarded to radio amateurs who have made an exceptional contribution to amateur radio and the Wireless Institute of Australia.

The award will be a handsome glass trophy, inscribed "The Chris Jones Award honours the memory of a man who was dedicated to the advancement of amateur radio and whose commitment and vision led to a new WIA and whose unfailing courtesy and genuine friendliness is fondly remembered by all who knew him."

The first award will be given this year and has been decided by the WIA Board. The recipient will be announced at the Open Forum following the Annual General Meeting in Parkes, New South Wales, on 5 May 2007.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)