Javascript Menu by

2009 News Releases




WIA Awards

Date : 05 / 05 / 2009
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

A number of awards were announced at the Open Forum following the WIA’s Annual General Meeting on 2nd May 2009 at the Gippsland Campus of Monash University at Churchill.

Three awards announced are awards presented on the recommendation of the Publications Committee, of which two are directly related to the magazine Amateur Radio.

The Al Shawsmith Award was awarded to John Sparkes VK6JX for his article "DX Chasers Club - Faure Island DXpedition, 2008" published in November 2008 AR.

(click picture above for a larger view - the award being accepted on behalf of John Sparkes by Bob Bristow VK6POP)

The AR Technical Award for the best technical article was awarded to Ron Sanders VK2WB for his article "A balanced antenna matching unit" published in April 2008 AR.

The Higginbotham Award was awarded to Graham Ratcliff VK5AGR for his long contribution to amateur radio as the National Coordinator of AMSAT-VK, promoting the amateur satellite service.

Stan Bourke VK2EL was awarded the Ron Wilkinson Award. The inscription on the certificate reads “In recognition of his contribution to amateur radio and the WIA for over 60 years as a technical innovator, the provider of technical support for his Division and WICEN, as a supporter of his club and as a trainer and Assessor of amateurs.”

Presidents Commendations were announced for Peter Weeks VK3YZP for his work in WICEN over many years, Mark Dods VK3XMU for WICEN and their work in the Victorian fires, Mavis Stafford VK3KS, 70 years licensed, and Ted Thrift VK2ARA for his work as WIA Club Coordinator.

These awards will be presented to the recipients at suitable events.

In announcing these awards WIA President Michael Owen VK3KI said that the WIA and amateur radio was helped by the work of very many people, but the WIA was not very good at saying "Thank You." The awards presented by the WIA was one way in which amateur radio could both thank these people and also remember the past with awards honouring the contribution of earlier generations.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2022 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)