Javascript Menu by

2011 News Releases




Change of IARU Region 3 Secretary

Date : 10 / 03 / 2011
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

The Directors of IARU Region 3 very much regret to announce the resignation for personal reasons of Seiichi (Jay) Oka JA1TRC as Secretary of IARU Region 3 from 9 March 2011. Jay became Assistant Secretary to Keigo Komuro JA1KAB then the IARU Region 3 Secretary in September 1998 and on Keigo’s resignation, Secretary in June 2009.

The Directors have formally recorded their acknowledgement of his contribution to amateur radio and IARU Region 3 over so very many years. As required by clause 41 of its Constitution, the Directors have appointed Katsumi (Ken) Yamamoto JA1CJP as Secretary of IARU Region 3 on the nomination of JARL. In nominating Ken as Secretary, JARL President Shozo Hara JA1AN reaffirmed his society’s strong and continuing support of IARU Region 3 and its secretary, at the same time stressing the importance of the regional secretary’s independence from any member society.

Ken holds a Bachelor of Science degree in electronics engineering and worked for KDD, now KDDI, in the satellite communications field for many years. During that time he worked in many countries, including five years stationed in the United Kingdom working with the International Maritime Satellite Organisation. He retired from KDDI in 2002. Ken is currently head of the JARL International Section on a part time basis. He was first licensed as a radio amateur in 1967 and today continues to have
an active interest in DX and contests. He was a member of the Japanese delegation representing the
amateur service to the recently concluded ITU Conference Preparatory Meeting for WRC 2012.

I am very confident that Ken will make a significant contribution to IARU Region 3 and I am
delighted that he has accepted this appointment.

Michael Owen VK3KI
IARU Region 3


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2021 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)