Javascript Menu by

WIA DX Awards General Information

DXCC Program

WIA Online Awards System

DXCC Awards

General Awards

Worked All Continents

Worked All Continents Award (WAC)

Award Description

Sponsored by the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU), the Worked-All-Continents award is issued for working and confirming all six continents (North America, South America, Oceania, Asia, Europe and Africa) on a variety of different bands and modes.

The WIA has been approved to issue this award to VK applicants on behalf of the IARU.


Qualification for the WAC award is based on an examination by the International Secretariat, or a member-society, of the IARU of QSL cards that the applicant has received from other amateur stations in each of the six continental areas of the world. All contacts must be made from the same country or separate territory within the same continental area of the world.

All QSL cards (Photocopies , eQSLs, LOTW and scans cannot be accepted for this award.) must show the mode and/or band for any endorsement applied for.

All contacts for the QRP endorsement must be made on or after January 1, 1985 while running a maximum power of 5 watts output or 10 watts input. QSL cards must clearly indicate QRP.

The following information should be helpful in determining the continental area of a station located adjacent to a continental boundary. North America includes Greenland (OX) and Panama (HP). South America includes Trinidad & Tobago (9Y), Aruba (P4), Curacao & Bonaire (PJ2-4) and Easter Island (CE0). Oceania includes Minami Torishima (JD1), Philippines (DU), Eastern Malaysia (9M6-8) and Indonesia (YB). Asia includes Ogasawara Islands (JD1), Maldives (8Q), Socotra Island (7O), Abu Ail Island (J2/A), Cyprus (5B, ZC4), Eastern Turkey (TA2-9) and Georgia (4L). Europe includes the fourth and sixth call areas of Russia (R1-6), Istanbul (TA1), all Italian islands (I) and Azores (CU). Africa includes Ceuta & Melilla (EA9), Madeira (CT3), Gan Island (8Q), French Austral Territory (FT) and Heard Island (VK0).

How To Apply For The Award

There is a 2-step process to apply for this award. The first step is to use the online system as usual to make your application.

The second step, as mandated by IARU, is to send your original cards (no photocopies or scans) and completed WAC application form to the WIA Awards Manager for checking at the address below:

WIA Awards Manager
29 Arthur Ave
Victoria, 3186

Sufficient return postage for the cards, in the form of a self-addressed stamped envelope is also required.

Once the cards have been checked, your Award will be approved by the Awards Committee and your Certificate can be downloaded as per your other awards.

Files For Download

WIA IARU WAC Application Form
WIA IARU WAC application file.pdf

Page Last Updated: Wednesday, 04 Oct 2023 at 14:24 hours by Webmaster


© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)