Javascript Menu by

2010 News Releases




WIA Jim Rumble WA Amateur of the Year Award Presented

Date : 20 / 12 / 2010
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

The Wireless Institute of Australia Western Australia Division created the Amateur of the Year Award in 1977. In 2000 the Award was renamed the Jim Rumble Amateur of the Year Award, in honour of VK6RU, a former President of the Division and the VK6 QSL Manager for an incredible 61 years.

With the restructure of the WIA in 2004 the national WIA took over the Award, to continue to recognise the Western Australian amateur making an outstanding contribution to amateur radio.

WIA Director Bob Bristow VK6POP, encouraged by Christine Bastin VK6ZLZ resurrected the award. On Sunday 19 December 2010 at an informal barbeque in Kings Park, Perth, the Jim Rumble Award was presented by WIA President Michael Owen VK3KI to Heath Walder VK6TWO and Monique Faulkner VK6FMON.

The Award is a perpetual trophy, with an attractive certificate for each recipient.

Heath and Monique organised the collaboration of the various amateur radio groups to conduct the very successful Super Springtime promotion of amateur radio to the public in September and October.

In accordance with the agreement between the WIA and the Western Australia Division before it was deregistered in September 2005, the WIA Board will make future Jim Rumble Amateur of the Year Awards taking into account the advice of the Western Australia Advisory Committee.

Note: Click the above photo for a larger view, use your browsers back button to return to this page.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)