Javascript Menu by Deluxe-Menu.com


2020 News Releases

 

Year

 


ARISS Contact Scheduled for Students at KMO Kolska Wyspa, Koło, Poland

Date : 02 / 09 / 2020
Author : Dave Jordan - AA4KN

September 01, 2020—Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) has received schedule confirmation for an ARISS radio contact with astronauts. ARISS is the group that puts together special amateur radio contacts between students around the globe and crew members with ham radio licenses on the International Space Station (ISS).

This ARISS event will be a telebridge contact via amateur radio and students will take turns asking their questions of ISS Commander Chris Cassidy, amateur radio call sign KF5KDR. Martin Diggins, amateur radio call sign VK6MJ, in Australia will serve as the relay amateur radio ground station.

The ARISS contact is scheduled for September 2, 2020 at 2:58 pm CEST in Kolo (12:58 pm UTC, 8:58 am EDT, 7:58 am CDT, 6:58 am MDT and 5:58 am PDT).

Several educational groups have been selected for the ARISS school contact.

The Klub Młodych Odkrywców (KMO) Kolska Wyspa is a club of teen explorers, which was founded in June 2013 and youth have taken part in educational programs in cooperation with the Copernicus Science Centre in Warsaw. The club is involved in the MoonKAM and the EarthKAM missions. In cooperation with 12 other clubs of teen explorers in Poland, KMO Kolska Wyspa promoted these missions with an exhibition called "The Earth from the Sky.”

Also invited to the ARISS contact are students from the Adam Mickiewicz Primary School No. 2, which has 120 students ages 12 to 15, and Kazimierz Wielki Secondary School, which has 90 students ages 16 to 19. Both schools are in Koło. The first offers students the opportunity to take part in many space-related activities and the second school is famous for the construction of robots.


_____________________________ .

As time allows, students will ask these questions:
1. What do you do when you get ill or injured?
2. How long did you train before flying into space?
3. What kind of fun activities can you do in the state of microgravity?
4. What kind of food do you eat and is it tasty?
5. As fizzy drinks are forbidden in space because of CO2, so what time and how are you going to cele-brate the New Year on the ISS?
6. Do you use any watches and clocks on the station?
7. What do you dream about most of all when you are in space?
8. What kind of spacesuits do you use in outer space?
9. What do astronauts feel when a spaceship docks to the ISS?
10. Is it true that flights in the Crew Dragon are more comfortable than those in the Space Shuttles?
11. What is the effect of space flight on your body?
12. Do you keep in touch with your family or friends on Earth when you are in space?
13. What is the range of temperature inside and outside of the ISS?
14. What do you do in your free time in space?
15. How often do you clean the ISS and why is it so important?
16. Where do you have more appetite on Earth or in space?
17. What kind of books do you read in space?
18. What kind of research are you doing in space right now?
19. What kind of robots do you use in space and what are their applications?
20. How many times can you see fireworks on Earth to celebrate the New Year’s Eve around the World?


ARISS – Celebrating 20 Years of Amateur Radio Continuous Operations on the ISS

About ARISS:
Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) is a cooperative venture of international amateur radio societies and the space agencies that support the International Space Station (ISS). In the United States, sponsors are the Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation (AMSAT), the American Radio Relay League (ARRL), the ISS National Lab-Space Station Explorers, and NASA’s Space Communications and Navigation program. The primary goal of ARISS is to promote exploration of science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics topics by organizing scheduled contacts via amateur radio between crew members aboard the ISS and students. Before and during these radio contacts, students, educators, parents, and communities learn about space, space technologies, and amateur radio. For more information, see www.ariss.org.

Media Contact:
Dave Jordan, AA4KN
ARISS PR



Page Last Updated: Wednesday, 02 Sep 2020 at 20:01 hours by Robert Broomhead

 

Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2020 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)