Javascript Menu by

2013 News Releases




WIA AGM Report

Date : 28 / 05 / 2013
Author : Onno Benschop - VK6FLAB

The WIA AGM Report
Held over the last weekend in May, from the 24th to the 26th, in and around Fremantle, Amateurs from around Australia descended in droves to share their knowledge and experience the VK6 hospitality. With events organised by many local clubs, a great time was had by all.


The formal component of the weekend was held on Saturday morning after registration of WIA members. Phil Wait VK2ASD, the President of the WIA chaired the proceedings which saw the announcement of a new look board. The results of the election for Directors were announced during the AGM session.

The Election results were:
  Robert Broomhead VK3DN - 860 votes
  Ewan McLeod VK4ERM - 824 votes
  Fred Swainston VK3DAC - 791 votes
  Roger Harrison VK2ZRH - 772 votes
  Stuart Fillmore VK5STU - 603 votes
  John McRae VK5PO - 520 votes

The elected Directors are: Robert Broomhead VK3DN, Ewan Mcleod VK4ERM, Fred Swainston VK3DAC, and Roger Harrison VK2ZRH. The WIA board sincerely thanks all those that nominated for the position of Director and looks forward to working with those elected.

The President also expressed his thanks to the outgoing Directors, Philip Adams VK3JNI and Trent Sampson VK4TS and noted their great support and ongoing commitment to the WIA - "once you cease being a Director, you never leave".


Those attending the AGM unanimously supported a recommendation from the Northern Tasmanian Amateur radio Club (NTARC) that Robin Harwood VK7RH, be made a Honorary Life Member of the Institute. Robyn started writing his columns "Spotlight on Shortwave Listening" as far back as 1976, which may make him the longest continuing contributor to AR magazine, and he has been a major force in Short wave Listening ever since while also living with a significant disability.


The President awarded Presidential Commendations to the following members:

Roger Harrison VK2ZRH, for his preparation of submissions to the NSW State government regarding Amateur Radio Antenna Masts in NSW.

Greg James VK2GRJ, for his contribution as Assistant treasurer of the WIA in particular in relation to the MYOB function.

Dianne Ashton VK3FDIZ, for her valuable ongoing contribution to the administration of the WIA, with particular regard to the Examinations Service and the callsign recommendation process.

Margaret Williams in recognition of her many years of service to the WIA.

Denis Johnston VK4AE, in recognition of his contribution over 10 years as Contest Manager for the John Moyle Field Day.

Alan Shannon VK4SN, in recognition of his contribution as Contest Manager for the Remembrance Day Contest.

Bob Robinson VK3SX, for his ongoing contribution as Awards Manager, and for his work on the restructure of the awards program.

Marc Hillman VK3OHM, for his development of a new series of support tools which have contributed to the WIA awards program.

Dean Blackman VK3TX, for the creation of a log checker for the Remembrance Day Contest.


The following WIA Merit Awards were presented at Saturday nights annual dinner:

Higginbotham Award for contribution to amateur radio – Peter Freeman VK3PF, for his seven years as AREditor, beginning with the first edition in 2006 and continuing, and also for his unbroken leadership of GippsTech since its inception in 1998.

Amateur Radio Technical AwardAndrew Martin VK3OE, for his article “Adventures with a bistatic chirp and CW radar” published in AR, December, 2012, page 10.

Al Shawsmith Award for journalism – Grant Willis VK5GH, Matthew Cook VK5ZM, Mark Jessop VK5QI and Alan Kovacs for their article “Introducing Project Horus: High altitude ballooning in South Australia” published inAR, July, 2012, page 22.

The Chris Jones Award was presented to John Longayroux VK3PZ, for his outstanding contribution as Treasurer of the WIA. This award honours the memory of a man who was dedicated to the advancement of amateur radio and whose unfailing commitment and vision led to a new Wireless Institute of Australia ... "It is awarded to radio amateurs who have made an exceptional contribution to amateur radio and the Wireless Institute of Australia."


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)