Javascript Menu by

2005 News Releases




2005 VK/ trans-Tasman Contests 80M Results

Date : 30 / 06 / 2005
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

80 Metres PHONE on 21 st May was favoured with quiet band conditions and mostly good propagation.

The 80 Metre Trophy was won by VK2ATZ, a multi-operator entry from the Westlakes Amateur Radio Club.

VK3EK (Rob Ashlin) from Bairnsdale was equal 2 nd with VK3FRC (another multi-operator) from the Frankston and Mornington Peninsular ARC.

VK7VH (Vince Henderson) from Hobart took out 3 rd.

The QRP Phone was won by Ian Godsil, VK3JS.

David Karrasch, ZL1DK, won the certificate for 1 st ZL, with Brian King , ZL2001, being the only starter and winner in the SWL Category.

Similar conditions prevailed for the CW, on 4 th June.

The night was won by Alan Shannon, VK4SN, VK2BPL, Paul Linsley 2 nd, and VK5DC, Dale Cavies 3 rd.

Again, Ian Godsil, VK3JS, won the QRP.

229 stations participated on Phone, and 60 in CW, and 88 logs were received, which is all a bit up on last year’s record.

The auto-logging programs made things easier for everyone except the Contest Manager. – They still had bugs in them (which Alan Shannon has been driven day and night to fix), while Bruce manually re-checked all 88 logs, and at the same time managed to fit in surgery to remove a malignant prostate gland.

The 80 Metre Trophy and Phone Certificates should be in the mail by 1 st July, with the CW not far behind.

Don’t forget 160 Metres PHONE on 9 th July, and CW on the 23 rd.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2024 Wireless Institute of Australia all rights reserved.
The National Association for Amateur Radio in Australia
A member society of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU)