Javascript Menu by

2017 News Releases




IARU Region 1 looks to the future

Date : 25 / 09 / 2017
Author : Jim Linton - VK3PC

The five-day IARU Region 1 General Conference which closed last Thursday had discussions on the realities needed to protect our spectrum, as well as addressing the declining numbers of active radio amateurs. Delegates from Europe, Africa, Middle East and Northern Asia gathered in Landshut, Germany, to review strategy, finances and membership. Also in attendance were representatives of Region 2 and Region 3, and the IARU Administrative Committee.

It considered about 50 papers. Attention focussed on spectrum development and protection via the International Telecommunications Union, meetings with the CEPT (European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations) and the World Radiocommunication Conferences – the next held WRC in late 2019. It reviewed policy in the key spectrum areas of LF/HF and VHF/UHF/Microwave. Talks covered a range of related areas, including band planning, contests, remote working and innovative developments in the areas of satellites and digital TV.

Annual reports were provided by the Committees, Working Groups and Coordinators. These included Electromagnetic Compatibility, Emergency Communications, Youth, Amateur Radio Direction Finding, Intruder Watch, Space and High-Speed Telegraphy. Action taken in the interest among people with a disability, the harmonising entry level licences, and another from the STARS (Support to the Amateur Radio Service) program that encourages the hobby in developing countries. A highlight was the issuing of highest IARU Region 1 recognition, the Roy Stevens G2BVN Memorial Trophy, which went to Colin Thomas G3PSM for his outstanding contribution to Amateur Radio and the IARU over several decades.

The Executive Committee 2017-2020 was elected. Under the President Don Beattie G3BJ it takes office at the end of October. The others are: Vice President: Faisal Al-Ajmi 9K2RR, Treasurer Andreas Thiemann HB9JOE, Secretary Hans Blondeel Timmerman PB2T, with members being Sylvain Azarian F4GKR, Alessandro Carletti IV3KKW, Mats Espling SM6EAN, Joerg Jaehrig DJ3HW and Oliver Tabakovski Z32TO. The IARU, a federation of member societies representing over 150 countries, represents radio amateurs interests worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of Amateur Radio and seeks to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2018 Wireless Institute of Australia