Javascript Menu by

2017 News Releases




Australian Presented With Yasme Foundation Excellence Award

Date : 09 / 11 / 2017
Author : Jim Linton - VK3PC

These prestigious awards, which began in 2008, recognise individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to Amateur Radio. The Yasme Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation supporting scientific and educational projects related to Amateur Radio, has given five Excellence Awards this year.

One went to Dale Hughes VK1DSH, acknowledging his international work at the World Radiocommunication Conference in November 2015. The award is for excellent chairman work in both the Amateur Working Group in ITU-R Working Party 5A, and a Sub-Working Group that addressed the allocation of a worldwide 60-metre Amateur Radio band. A humble Dale VK1DSH told the WIA and IARU he was surprised at receiving the Yasme Excellence Award, which consists of a cash grant and an individually engraved crystal globe. He has attributed the successful outcome to a team effort resulting from a great deal of work by individual delegates, amateur societies, the IARU and supportive national administrations.

The IARU team went to the World Radiocommunication Conference in November 2015, not at all confident about getting the allocation. It was not until a lot of negotiation and the Sixth Plenary that a new secondary allocation of 5351.5-5366.5 kHz was passed. Although now widely available, the ITU allocation did not come into effect until January 2017, when national administrations must formally revise their rules to permit amateur operation.
Some countries including Australia are yet to release the 60-metre band allocation. Information on it can be read on the WIA website 'Current WIA Hot Issues' at:

The other Yasme Foundation Excellence Awards went to:
  Dayton Amateur Radio Association for its Hamvention
  Paul Verhage KD4STH and Bill Brown WB8ELK for leadership and continued technical innovation in Amateur Radio high-altitude ballooning
  Nathaniel Frissell W2NAF and Magda Moses KM4EGE who created the Ham Radio Science Citizen Investigation that sponsored the Solar Eclipse QSO Party
  The WSJT Development Team that has produced digital weak-signal mode software
Supporting Grant also went to Gary Pearce, KN4AQ for the HamRadioNow and YouTube videos.

The Yasme Excellence Award consists of a cash grant and an individually engraved crystal globe.
Full details are available by clicking the following Link


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2019 Wireless Institute of Australia