Javascript Menu by

2006 News Releases




WIA Postal Ballot for Directors

Date : 09 / 05 / 2006
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

In accordance with the Regulations adopted by the WIA Board, WIA President Michael Owen VK3KI formally announced the result of the postal ballot for the election of 3 directors for a 2-year term at the WIA Annual General Meeting held in Sydney on 6 May 2006.

David Wardlaw, VK3ADW had been appointed Returning Officer by the Board, and the result of the ballot was:

 Trevor Quick VK5ATQ, 715 votes, elected
 Robyn Clare Edwards VK6XRE, 694 votes, elected
 Philip John Wait VK2DKN, 694 votes, elected, and
 Edward (Ted) Thrift VK2ARA, 477 votes.

The President commented that some 960 odd members voted, which was about one in 4 members, and says a great deal about how the WIA has changed to a single national entity, with all members having an equal say.

It was also announced that the Board did not wish to lose retiring director Ted Thrift's special knowledge and enthusiasm and so had created the role of National Club Coordinator, and appointed Ted to that position.

Ted also continues as joint editor of the Callbook.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2019 Wireless Institute of Australia