Javascript Menu by

2006 News Releases




WIA AGM and Open Forum

Date : 11 / 05 / 2006
Author : Michael Owen - VK3KI

The second Annual General Meeting of the national WIA took place on Saturday the 6th of May, at the Bankstown RSL Club, Sydney.

The WIA Treasurer, Bruce Bathols VK3UV, presented the audited Annual Financial Statement, confirming that the WIA had ended the 2005 year in a sound financial position.

The results of the postal ballot for election of Directors were announced, and newly elected WIA Director Robyn Edwards VK6 XRE, was welcomed to the WIA Board. WIA President, Michael Owen VK3KI thanked Ted Thrift, VK2ARA, for his devoted service to the WIA during his term as Director and noted Ted has agreed to continue as joint Editor of the Callbook and National Club Coordinator.

The meeting unanimously approved the Board�s recommendation of Honorary Life Membership for Bill Roper VK3BR.

The Annual General Meeting was the formal part, and immediately the formalities finished, the meeting continued as an Open Forum, where any WIA related matter could be discussed in the context of reports on virtually every WIA activity. These reports are available for viewing on the WIA website.

The Open Forum commenced with the presentation of the Ron Wilkinson Award jointly to Fred Swainston VK3DAC and Ron Bertrand VK2DQ.

Michael Owen presented the President�s report, saying that although WIA membership was increasing, strengthening membership depends largely on individual clubs promoting WIA membership to their members. The President asked the clubs, in the interests of all radio amateurs, to be more proactive in supporting the WIA and promoting WIA membership.

The President thanked the very many people who have made the second year of the national WIA such a success. He said that the success that would not have been possible without the strong support of a great number of people, but most of all the man with the permanent phone in his ear, WIA Secretary, Chris Jones, VK2ZDD.


Click Here To Return To Previous Page
© 2019 Wireless Institute of Australia